Guess who’s coming to dinner?

My house has been a work in progress for the past few months. Years, really. I’ve been slowly redecorating each room, one by one. It’s a lot of fun and I’ll be sad when it’s over. Anyway, last night I had my first dinner party since I finished the great room. “Finished” probably isn’t a great word since I’m sure I’ll be tweaking stuff forever. But, it was still nice to have good friends over to enjoy the space and especially to have people to cook for. ❤

What’s for dinner?

• I made a variation of Ina Garten’s Chicken with Herbed Goat Cheese, along with roasted fingerling potatoes and sautéed green beans. Dessert was my version of a make your own sundae bar, my reasoning being that that’s what I’d want if I went to someone else’s house for dinner. Timing still eludes me, but, aside from a lobster puffy pastry hors d’oeuvres that was ill-conceived from the get-go, everything went pretty well. I meant to take pictures to post here, but I was having so much fun, I forgot. Next time!

• One of my new favorite podcasts:  Dinner Party Download.

• I’d totally forgotten about Jon Favreau’s Dinner for Five until the other day. Evidently, all of the episodes are available on YouTube. Hours well wasted, for sure.

Leave a Reply

