In vino veritas

I started a wine class at the Boston Center for Adult Education this past Tuesday. Can’t complain about the homework – between classes we’re supposed to drink wines from the previous week’s theme. That means we’re drinking French wines from the Loire Valley this week, so I figured I’d try making a regional dinner to go along. For the appetizer, I bought a duck rillette – I’d love to learn how to make one, but the recipes I found look pretty intense. I am going to make a poached bream in beurre blanc (fingers crossed) for the main course. For dessert, we’re having a cheese plate with fun condiments like stewed strawberries and parsnip chips. Should be a fun dinner. I’ll try to remember to take pictures this time!!

Louis Loire

• If you’ve never been to the Loire Valley, you should definitely plan a trip. If you like food, wine, châteaux, cycling, you really can’t go wrong. My recommendation is to stay in Amboise; it’s an easy train ride from Paris and a great jumping-off point. And, if you do find yourself in the area, I can’t say enough great things about Le Vieux Manoir. I’m not usually a fan of B&B’s, but this one is unbelievable. Without question one of the most beautiful and romantic places I’ve ever been. ❤

Leave a Reply

