Help!

I had some people over for dinner a few weeks ago. Towards the end of the night, one of my friends, someone I’ve known for years, offered to help with the dishes. I brushed him off, saying I could handle it, which is a very typically me thing to do. Then, in a very typically him thing to do, he kindly told me that I need to be better at asking for help and accepting it when it’s offered. I laughed and said I’d just read an article about that. Another typically me response. But, I let him help and, well after midnight, once everyone was gone, I was grateful that I could go to bed with a clean kitchen…

So, this morning, when I got some very upsetting news, I did something completely out of character and called my friend. That’s a big deal for me. I’m a really private person – like I’ve said before, my hope for this blog is that it’ll help me deal with that impulse. But, even though I’ve gotten A LOT better at showing weakness and asking for help, I’m still not the girl who calls someone at work hyperventilating and hysterically crying.

At least, not until today.

Huey Lewis needs time to create.

Leave a Reply

